Building Code of Australia

The Building Code of Australia (BCA) is a uniform set of technical provisions for the design and construction of buildings and other structures throughout Australia. The BCA is produced and maintained by the Australian Building Codes Board (ABCB), and given legal effect through the Building Act 1975.

The BCA is reviewed and amended each year to include various technical and regulatory changes. It is important to be aware of the primary changes that occur each year, to ensure you price building work to comply with the code, and ultimately avoid contractual disputes.

Australian Building Codes Board

A joint initiative of the Australian Government and state and territory governments, the ABCB addresses safety, health, amenity and sustainability issues through the National Construction Code (NCC). The intention of the ABCB is to achieve nationally consistent, minimum standards.

The NCC comprises the Building Code of Australia and the Plumbing Code of Australia (the Plumbing Code of Australia is given legal effect through the Plumbing and Drainage Act 2002 (Qld)), and is published in three volumes. Volumes one and two relate to the BCA.

Reference documents & standards

The BCA is supported by a number of reference documents. These documents provide specific detail on how to comply with the BCA and include a number of Australian Standards.

The BCA, which must be read in conjunction with the Building Act, is published in two volumes:

  • Volume 1 Commercial Buildings (Class 2–9 Buildings)
  • Volume 2 Residential Buildings (Class 1 and 10 Buildings – also known as the Housing Provisions)

Accessing the BCA

The BCA is available free of charge by registering and logging in to the Australian Building Codes Board website.