Women and diversity in building recognised

Published: 8 March 2017

With International Women’s Day being celebrated today, Master Builders is putting out the call for the best in Queensland’s female building industry and companies that practise diversity to enter the Master Builders 2017 Housing & Construction Awards.

Master Builders’ CEO Grant Galvin said the Women in Building award is important in showcasing the incredible contribution women make to the building and construction industry.

This year Master Builders also welcomes a new Diversity award to be presented to a company or organisation that can demonstrate positive change via initiatives aimed at promoting diversity within their business.

The new Diversity award can include initiatives such as pro-actively seeking to attract and place workers in non-traditional roles (such as female carpenters); promoting and encouraging flexibility in job design and hours of work (eg; flexible work arrangements, initiatives for carers and parents telecommuting options); and sustainable employment opportunities for disadvantaged workers (eg; the long-term unemployed, indigenous, or disabled).

“Women play a vital role in ensuring we address the looming skills shortage, while promoting ongoing productivity and viability for the industry,” Mr Galvin said.

“And it is the companies that help support diversity that also assist in helping grow our industry for the future.”

The 2016 Queensland Women in Building Award went to Katrina Tomkins from Paynter Dixon Queensland Pty Ltd.

“Katrina was honoured for being a genuine role model for women in construction,” Mr Galvin said.

2016 regional Women in Building award winners included:
• Brisbane – Katrina Tomkins and Nadine Czerner (joint winners)
• Gold Coast – Nikki Dudley
• Downs & Western – Ellie Farrington
• Sunshine Coast – Nicole McMillan
• Wide Bay Burnett – Melissa Zielke
• Mackay & Whitsunday – Madison Strutynski
• North Queensland – Kirsten Mackay
• Far North Queensland – Roslyn Smith

Master Builders held its inaugural Housing Awards in 1987, renaming the program the Housing & Construction awards in 1988 to include the commercial and industrial sectors.

In 2016 more than 1,000 entries were received from across the state. Regional winners go on to be judged at a state level and winners from here are shortlisted for the National Excellence Awards.

Nominations are now open. Early bird entries close 31 March 2017 and give you $50 off the cost of each entry.

Get more information on entry requirements, categories, venues and dates, and conditions of entry.