In line with Master Builders' Constitution, the management and control of the association is vested in the Board, which is elected by the Master Builders Electoral College (MBEC) every three years.

The Board, which meets monthly, is responsible for the governance and strategic direction of Master Builders.

Board 2019-2022

Ralf Dutton (President)

ralf_duttonRalf has worked in a variety of roles in the building industry throughout his career and is now proprietor of Value Homes (NQ) Pty Ltd.

He began work as an architectural draftsman while studying for his building qualification and became a registered builder in 1978. He worked for Ballantyne Homes from 1979 to 1992, after which he began his first of many successful businesses.

Stephen Havas (Chairman Housing)


With more than 20 years of experience under his belt, Stephen is currently Director at Garth Chapman Queenslanders, a prominent south east Queensland builder renowned for their award-winning home designs, quality and timeless style.

Bringing significant financial and corporate governance experience to the Board, Stephen is focused on assisting Master Builders in its strategic direction to best represent members' interests and influence relevant stakeholders.

Mark Spry (Chairman Construction)

mark_spryWith over 30 years industry experience Mark is currently the Managing Director at Emacen Projects Pty Ltd. Previous to this he was Director for Icon Co’s QLD operation, Precontracts Manager and State Manager for Watpac and Operations Manager for John Holland.

Mark has been on the Construction Sector Committee since 2015 and strives to be the link between industry and association, to ensure alignment on issues and outcomes.

Geoff Baguley (Board Member)

geoff_baguleyAfter completing his apprenticeship in 1999, Geoff went on to start up Baguley Developments Pty Ltd in 2002, which has since become Mackay Property Maintenance Pty Ltd.

He has been a Master Builders member for 14 years and involved with the local committee and MBEC (formerly State Council) for the past six years, including the position of Local Committee Chair since 2012. Geoff is also the Divisional Representative for Mackay & Whitsunday.

Drew Brockhurst (Board Member)

drew_brockhurstAs the General Manager for BESIX Watpac in Queensland and the Northern Territory, Drew has over 21 years’ experience in the construction industry. Prior to this, he worked for large companies such as St Hilliers Construction in Queensland and the Leighton Group in the Middle East and India.

Drew currently sits on Master Builders’ Construction Sector Committee.

Ross Hogno (Board Member)


Ross has been a long-time supporter of Master Builders. Since joining in 2000, he has held positions on the Board (since 2014), Downs & Western Committee of Management (since 2012), the Housing Sector Committee (since 2014, including Chair) and various other subcommittees and working groups.

Commencing his industry career as an apprentice carpenter and joiner, his 20+ years’ experience now sees him heading up Ross Hogno Constructions – an award winning regional building business. He has a strong interest in contributing to the industry, providing input into the issues which directly impact business owners and operators and is a firm believer in continuous improvement and professional development.

Brett Johnston (Board Member)


As a Director and General Manager of Paynters, Brett has worked in multiple roles throughout the business over 23 years, gaining invaluable experience and a deep understanding of the industry.

Brett is an advocate for construction issues affecting businesses and aims to challenge assumptions within our industry. He has been a MBEC member since 2016 and an active participant on the construction committee for the last three years.

Prior to joining Paynters he completed his carpentry apprenticeship and remains passionate about promoting skills training for the next generation.

Christopher Taylor (Board Member)


With a construction industry career spanning many years, Chris started his career in finance before progressing through the ranks of family owned, Taylor Builders Pty Ltd.

Currently the Managing Director, he has held a number of roles and has significant industry and business experience. His extensive credentials include a Bachelor of Commerce, Post-Graduate Diploma in Construction, Open Builder Licence and a Bachelor of Laws.

He has a passion for training and is a big supporter of apprentices.

Board 2016-2019

  • Ralf Dutton (President)
  • Ross Hogno (Chairman Housing)
  • Mark Spry (Chairman Construction)
  • Geoff Baguley (Board Member)
  • Drew Brockhurst (Board Member)
  • Adrian Gabrielli (Board Member)
  • Nick Herron (Board Member)
  • Peter Schriek (Board Member)
  • Rod McDonald (Board Member)

Board 2014-2016

  • Nick Herron (President)
  • Rod McDonald (Chairman Construction)
  • Ralf Dutton (Chairman Housing)
  • Peter Schriek (Board Member)
  • Geoff Baguley (Board Member)
  • Drew Brockhurst (Board Member)
  • Adrian Gabrielli (Board Member)

Major Sponsors

BUSSQ Truecore and Colorbond logos QLeave Construction Skills Queensland